Jaguar I-Pace scores triple crown at 2019 World Car of the Year

The Jaguar I-Pace has captured triple crown at the 2019 World Car of the Year: World Car of the Year,  Design of the Year and Green car. Handpicked by the jurors from 40 entries, the I-Pace beat the Volvo S60/V60 and Audi e-tron.  This is the first time Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) has won a World Green Car award. Previously JLR has won a World Car of the Year award in 2017 and four World Car Design of the Year awards; two of them consecutively.

Why the Jaguar I-Pace?

As intuitive and as rewarding to drive as all other Jaguar models, the I-Pace uses state-of-the-art technologies to help customers get the most from every journey. The thermal management system has a smart heat pump which can scavenge energy from the outside air and the vehicle’s high-voltage electronics to heat the cabin: this reduces the load of the battery, which in turn increase ranges. The range display is personalized to each individual driver and can show how much energy systems. The car is also available with four-zone climate control or Smart Climate function.

McLaren gets a deserving honor with the 720s winning the Performance Car of the Year. For the Luxury title, Audi A7 has the honor locked on.  The A7 win is the second consecutive World Luxury Car win for Audi. The A8 was last year’s winner in this category.

The McLaren 720S has been praised for its blend of extreme performance, crafted luxury and unparalleled driver involvement,  McLaren’s pride premiered at the 2017 Geneva International Motor Show and offers the widest breadth of dynamic capability of any McLaren, from controlled comfort to extreme handling prowess. At the heart of the 720S is a 4.0-liter twin-turbocharged V8 that produces 720PS and 770Nm of torque; 0-100 km/h takes only 2.9 seconds, the 720S delivers outstanding driver engagement, with a new generation of McLaren’s active chassis system, Proactive Chassis Control II and double the aerodynamic efficiency of its Super Series predecessor.

About the World Car of the Year

Now entering their 15th year, the annual World Car Awards are the number one awards program in the world for the sixth consecutive year based on Prime Research’s 2018 media report.

The awards were inaugurated in 2003, and officially launched in January 2004, to reflect the reality of the global marketplace, as well as to recognize, reward and inspire excellence, leadership and innovation in a rapidly changing automotive industry.

The awards are intended to complement, not compete, with existing national and regional Car of the Year programs.

The awards are administered by a not-for-profit association, under the guidance of an awards management and advisory group of prominent automotive journalists from Asia, Europe, and North America. Peter Lyon (Co-chair, World Car Awards Program – Japan), Mike Rutherford (Co-chair, World Car Awards Program – UK), Jens Meiners (Partnership director – Germany), Tim Stevens (director – USA), Siddharth Vinayak Patankar (director – India) and Gerry Malloy (president, WCA Association).

Latest articles

Limited Edition Proton Saga To Celebrate 35 Years Of Proton Saga

9th July 2020 marks the 35th year anniversary for the Proton Saga. In order to celebrate this occasion, Proton today unveiled the...

Mitsubishi Motors Showroom Receive New Visual Identity

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) launch a new visual identity (VI) for its Mitsubishi Motors 3S Centre in Melaka with their authorized dealer...

Lexus Flagship Sedan Is Now Updated

Lexus is a premium Japanese brand that manage to bring the fight to the German Luxury car makers. For Lexus, their flagship...

Proton Saga Turning 35 This Year

The Proton Saga, a car that was part of the life of many Malaysians since the launch back in 9 July 1985....

Related articles