Nissan Skyline GT-R R32 picked as winner of Top 20 fans competition

The fans have spoken, and the Nissan Skyline GT-R R32 has taken the victory in the NISMO Top 20 competition.

The car beat out three notable GT-R machines: the Bathurst 12 Hour, Blancpain GT Series and GT300 championship-winning Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3; the 2003 JGTC championship-winning Nissan Skyline GT-R R34; and the Super GT 2014/15 championship-winning Nissan GT-R NISMO GT500. Ultimately, it was the R32’s racing pedigree and cult-favorite status that catapulted it to the top.

In production for just five years, the Skyline GT-R R32 earned top honors in championships and prestigious races on three different continents. In Europe, the R32 took the overall victory in the Spa 24 in 1991. And it won the Australian Touring Car Championship for the first time in 1991, followed up with another championship in 1992, taking Bathurst 1000 victories both years.

However, it was in Japanese touring cars where the R32 saw arguably its biggest successes. The Nissan Skyline GT-R R32 scored the victory in every Japanese Touring Car championship race (pre-Super GT era) during the 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1993 seasons, earning championships for the Hasemi and Impul teams along the way.

In addition to its racing repertoire, the R32’s status as a fan favorite was cemented with its inclusion in the Gran Turismo video game series.

An enduring and endlessly popular option for gamers everywhere and a racing champion, the Nissan Skyline GT-R R32 proved its prowess on the track, on the screen, and in the NISMO Top 20 competition to be named the greatest Nissan NISMO race car of all time.






NISMO Top 20 Competition final results

1. Nissan Skyline GT-R R32

1990 / 92 JTCC Champion, Spa 24 Hours winner, Bathurst winner, Australian Touring Car Championship winner. Gran Turismo favorite.

2. Skyline GT-R R34 2003

Championship winner in Japan with Satoshi Motoyama and Michael Krumm.

3. Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3

Bathurst 12 Hours winner, Blancpain GT Champion, Super GT GT300 champion, Paul Ricard 1000km winner, Pirelli World Challenge race winner.

4. GT-R NISMO GT500 2014/15

2014 and 2015 Super GT championship-winning car with Ronnie Quintarelli and Tsugio Matsuda.

5. Nissan R92CP

Three-time championship winner in the Japanese Prototype championship.

6. Pennzoil Skyline GT-R

All-Japan GT Championship winner 1998.

7. Nissan GT-R Super GT 2008

2008 Super GT Championship winner with Satoshi Motoyama and Benoît Tréluyer.

8. Nissan GT-R NISMO GT1

2011 FIA GT1 World Champion with Michael Krumm and Lucas Luhr.

9. Nissan R390 GT1

Third place for Nissan at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1998.

10. Nissan R381 / R382

The winners of the 1968 and 1969 Japan GP.

11. Datsun 510

John Morton’s SCCA Trans-AM 1971 and 1972 champion.

12. Nissan 300ZX

1994 Daytona winner, Sebring winner, class winner at Le Mans.

13. Nissan R90CK

Legendary pole position winner at Le Mans with Mark Blundell behind the wheel.

14. Nissan DPi IMSA 2017

Great debut season in 2017 in IMSA competition. Two wins including Petit Le Mans.

15. Nissan R91CP

The winner of the Daytona 24 Hour in 1992.

16. Nissan GTP ZX-Turbo

The legendary 3-time IMSA championship winning car of Geoff Brabham.

17. Nissan Primera GT

1999 British Touring Car Champion with Laurent Aïello.

18. Skyline Super Silhouette

Seven wins in Japan 1982 and 1983.

19. Nissan Altima Supercar

Race winner in the highly competitive Supercars series in Australia.

20. Datsun Bluebird 1300SS

1966 East African Safari winner.

Latest articles

The All-New Range Rover Evoque With Smart AI System.

The Range Rover Evoque attracted plenty new buyers to the Range Rover brand due to the lifestyle icon that the vehicle mean....

Unveiling the 911 Speedster In Malaysia Virtually

On the 2nd of June 2020, at 8pm, Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP), the authorised importer of Porsche in Malaysia since 2010,...

The LEGO® Technic™ Lamborghini Sián FKP 37

LEGO Group have been busy igniting the automotive enthusiast hearts by introducing a whole host of LEGO® Technic™ products that resemble some...

New Ford Ranger FX4 Scheduled To Be Launch On The 3rd Of June 2020

On the 3rd of June on 11am, Sime Darby Auto Connexion (SDAC) will be launching the new Ford Ranger FX4 through Ford’s...

Related articles