allcarschannel The Perodua Eco-Challenge, in collaboration with the Ministry of Higher Education, returns for a fourth installment with the 13 institutions of higher learning from last year’s event.

The race amongst the participating institutions of higher learning in Malaysia is slated to be held at the Melaka International Motorsport Circuit (MIMC). Ayer Keroh on 15 July 2012, just as it was held there last year. Perodua has cranked up this year’s competition by adding 2 new categories – Time Attack and Overall Champion – in addition to the Design and Engineering and Longest Distance categories as in the previous years’ races.

The teams are made up of defending champs Politeknik Ungku Omar (winner of longest distance), Universiti Tekonologi Malaysia (winner of engineering category), Universiti Malaysia Pahang (winner of design and participation category), Universiti Sains Malaysia. Universiti Kuala Lumpur – Malaysia Spanish Institute. Politeknik Sultan Azlan Shah. Universe Teknotogi Mara. Umvers.t.Teknologi Petronas, Universiti Tenaga Nasional, Universe Industri Selangor. Politeknik Port Dickson. Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia and Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka.

This year. the participating teams are required to update on last year’s race buggy concept cars. based on a ViVA 660cc engine. Additionally, Perodua would provide a fund of RM10,000 to these participating teams to enhance their concepts with the required modifications and general setup configurations, in order to compete effectively at this year’s Eco-Challenge. Perodua also extended invites with an RM5,000 funding to Business, Commerce or Management faculties of the participating institutions to compete in the 2012 Eco-Challenge. All they have to do is submit a marketing, promotional and business plan with regards to their respective teams’ race vehicles.

The Eco-Challenge will be judged by Perodua officials and industry pundits, amongst the criterias include, team presentation, concepts’ design and the race itself which comprises slalom runs, acceleration and lots more. The total prize money for this year’s race has been increased from RM 77,000 to RM 103.000, and three new categories have been added to the Eco-Challenge foray: Overall champion, Time-attack and the Marketing, Promotion and Business plan.

For the overall category, a cash prize of RM25.000 awaits the Overall champion, while the Time Attack and Marketing, Promotional & Business plan winners each receive a cash prize of RM 7,000 for 1st place finish.